The Rwanda NCDI Poverty Group met for the first time in March 2017, under the leadership of Chair Permanent Secretary Dr. Jean Pierre Nyemazi and group coordinator Dr. Marie Aimee Muhimpundu. During the Commission's first meeting, four working groups were established and Rwanda-specific NCDI disease burden data were reviewed. The Rwanda NCDI Poverty Group is now assessing baseline NCDI data and country-level fiscal space.

Commission Chairs

Jeanine Condo.jpg
jean pierre nyemazi.png

Jeanine Condo (MD, MSc, PhD)

Dr. Jeanine Condo is the Director General of the Rwanda Biomedical Center. She obtained her PhD in Public Health from Tulane, and her MD from the National University of Rwanda.



Jean Pierre Nyemazi (MD, MSc, MHCDS)

Dr. Jean Pierre Nyemazi is the Permanent Secretary of Health of the Republic of Rwanda and has been working in global health delivery for 10 years. Prior to his current position, Dr. Nyemazi led the Planning, M&E, and Business Strategy Division of the Rwanda Biomedical Center, with a strong focus on improving and delivering health care in a more efficient and sustainable way. He has also held leadership positions as the Deputy Director of the National HIV/AIDS program and the Principal Investigator for PEPFAR/CDC funded projects to Rwanda Biomedical Center.

Dr. Nyemazi earned his medical degree and Master of Science in Field Epidemiology and Laboratory Training from National University of Rwanda and also holds a Master of Health Care Delivery Sciences from Dartmouth College. He has published articles and abstracts presented at both national and international conferences, as author and co-author, relating to HIV/AIDS, TB, Malaria, Health Systems and innovations to advance global health equity. 


Rusanganwa Andre

Uhagaze Blaise

Jean Claude Byiringiro

Crispin Gishoma

Bagahirwa Irene

Pacifique Mugenzi

Joseph Mucumbitsi

Marie  Aimee Muhimpundu

Simon Pierre Niyonsenga

Gedeon Ngoga

Gahire Rose

Sephan Rulisa

Clarisse Musanabaganwa

Niringiyimana Ismeal

Umuhoza Stella Matutina