The Uganda NCDI Poverty Commission held its inaugural meeting on Friday August 9, 2019, in Kampala. The Commission is co-chaired by Dr. Gerald Mutungi and Dr. Isaac Ssinabulya and members hail from the Ministry of Health and a broad array of civil society partners. The Commission will focus on analyzing data in order to better understand the burden of NCDs and injuries in Uganda, with particular attention to conditions that disproportionately impact the poor, and to recommend interventions and policies to address it, based on a priority-setting framework that takes account of both cost-effectiveness and equity.

Commission Co-Chairs

Dr. Gerald Mutungi, Ministry of Health

Dr. Isaac Ssinabulya, UINCD


Dr. Olive Kobusingye

Prof. David Guwatudde

Dr. Sr Mary M. Ajiko

Dr. Frank Mugabe

Dr. Dan Kajungu

Mr. Christopher Kwizera

Dr. Stanley Bubikire

Dr. Hafsa Lukwata

Dr. Nathan Kenya-Mugisha

Dr. Noleb Mugisha

Dr. Hafsa Kasule

Dr. Deogracious Munube

Dr. Robert Kalyesubula

Ms. Martha Nabadda

Prof. Moffat Nyirenda

Mr. Anthony Ddamba

Dr. Roy Mayega

Dr. Lumu William

Dr. Emmy Okello

Dr. Bruce Kirenga

Prof. Jeremy Schwartz

Dr. Sarah Byakika

Dr. David Okello

Mr. Stephen Baryahirwa